Is it safe to delete Custom VM Image from Premium Storage Account?

Category: azure devtest labs

Question

Devgato on Wed, 08 Feb 2017 19:04:25


In DevTest Lab, when creating a Custom Image VHD, it puts the VHD image on both Standard Storage Account as well as the Premium Storage Account.

If we will not be using SSD VM, is it safe to delete the VHD image from Premium Storage Account without affecting the stability of the DevTest Lab?

What about the Premium Storage Account itself? Is it safe to remove the Premium Storage Account without affecting DevTest Lab?

Thanks in advance.

Replies

AshokPeddakotla-MSFT on Thu, 09 Feb 2017 16:01:07


Yes, you could just delete that storage account if you do not want to use the premium storage.

Once you create a custom image VHD it will automatically copy to all your storage accounts so that your VM creation experience is much faster.

If you manually delete the vhd from your storage account, they are likely to be copied to the premium storage account if that storage account is used to create a VM with that custom image.