Question

notanspfan2 on Wed, 15 May 2013 11:43:35


sp 2010 foundation with designer 2010

something that has started a few weeks ago, behavior is on multiple sites and lists

- create a workflow, for example "approval"

- edit the workflow later on

- usually the workflow is replaced and in the workflow list you will see the current workflow and the previous versions, those have a message and date behind it

- what happens, a bit random, after edit & publish a new flow named "approval (2)" or (3) or (4) is there, the original is still there too

- you can guess the problem, flows that are set to start automatically start automatically so multiple workflows are running, the Original and the duplicates

any idea what is causing that?

i did not have that behaivor during the first months of use

it's not on 1 list or site

no workflows are actively running while workflows are edited

i can deactivate or delete flows but not sure which one i delete and which one is the real one


Sponsored



Replies

Entan Ming on Thu, 16 May 2013 07:45:08


Hi,

I understand that when you publish a workflow, newer version of workflow will be created to the list with names like approval(2). Since you want to remove the previous versions of the workflow, you can go the list settings> workflow settings>remove a workflow.

Then you will see all the workflows listed on the page. The workflow have a created time. You can judge which is newer by the created time.

Thanks,

Entan Ming

Ankur Chourasia on Thu, 16 May 2013 08:37:10


  1. In a Web browser, browse to the site that contains the workflow that you want to delete, and then browse to the specific list or library to which the workflow is attached.
  2. On the list or library menu bar, click Settings, and then click either List Settings or Document Library Settings, whichever is present.

  1. Under Permissions and Management, click Workflow Settings.
  2. On the Change Workflow Settings page, click Remove a workflow.

 Note   You can use the option Add a workflow to make a workflow that was previously removed available again. But note that a workflow that was designed in Office SharePoint Designer 2007 is always attached to exactly one list or library. You can add a workflow only to the list or library to which it was originally attached.

  1. On the Remove Workflows page, click Remove, and then click OK.

  1. Click OK to confirm that you want to remove the workflow.

Please mark my answer if it helped you, I would greatly appreciate it.


notanspfan2 on Fri, 07 Jun 2013 08:33:45


Altough both solutions are correct, there is some weird behavior.

Sometimes it works like expected, the older flows have a tag (previous version + date).

And the naming of the flow is the same regardless of the version.

In some cases there is an additional flow like  thisworkflow (1) so multiple versions of current flow not previous flows. That caused some errors in my workflows where i tested on workflow name, i now test for contains instead of equal.

And those do not have a date, see below.

Wolv user on Wed, 04 Dec 2013 20:42:31


I am having the same issue

John-G-M on Fri, 11 Apr 2014 16:55:50


Altough both solutions are correct, there is some weird behavior.

Sometimes it works like expected, the older flows have a tag (previous version + date).

And the naming of the flow is the same regardless of the version.

In some cases there is an additional flow like  thisworkflow (1) so multiple versions of current flow not previous flows. That caused some errors in my workflows where i tested on workflow name, i now test for contains instead of equal.

And those do not have a date, see below.


I am seeing this exact same behavior on my WSS 3.0 server.  Does anyone have an explanation on what causes this difference in behavior?  It almost seems like one is creating a new version (hence, 'Previous Version:') and the other is causing a copy, especially since when I see a number in parentheses (1) and I go to 'remove' it will show both as available to create new instances...while ones that say 'previous version' are set to 'No New Instances'.  

I would REALLY appreciate knowing what the difference is as it can be problematic.